Practical hints

Climate in Armenia

Armenia’s location in the subtropical belt, among mountain redges of the central part of South Caucasus, and the fact that over 90 percent of its territory lies at over 1000 metres above sea level, account for the special climate of the country. The climate in Armenia is continential dry - long cold winters and hot summers. Tropical continental air streams penetrate from the south – Iranian Highlands. In July, the average temperature is +10C (50F) in mountainous regions and about +25C (77F) in flat areas. The air on top of the Armenian Highlands gets rather cold in winter forming an area of high atmosphere pressure. Temperature fluctuates between -12C and -15C (10 - 23F) in January, while it can drop down to -30C at times. There are snowfalls within the range of 20 – 80 cm (8 – 31 inches) each year. The highest mountain peaks in Armenia are covered with snow all the year round. For the most part, the local climate is characterized by abundant sun and highly changeable weather. The best time to visit the country is autumn and mid spring. For more comprehensive information related to weather in Armenia, please visit the Meteo TV website.

For more comprehensive information related to weather in Armenia, please visit the
Meteo - TV website.

When it’s daytime in Yerevan, it’s

- 11 a.m. in Moscow, Baghdad, Nairobi, Tehran;
- 10 a.m. in Eastern Europe, Egypt, South Africa;
- 8 a.m. in Central Europe, Tunis, Zaire;
- 7 a.m. in Iceland, Madeira;
- 6 a.m. in Azory Islands;
- 5 a.m. in Rio de Janeiro, San Paolo;
- 3 a.m. in Montreal, New York, Santiago;
- 2 a.m. in Chicago, Mexico;
- 1 a.m. in Denver, Santa Fe;
- 1 p.m. in Bombay, Karachi, Delhi;
- 2 p.m. in Calcutta;
- 3 p.m. in Bangkok, Singapore, Jakarta;
- 4 p.m. in Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghais;
- 5 p.m. in Vladivostok, Tokyo, Adelaide;
- 6 p.m. in Sidney, Melbourne;
- 7 p.m. in Marshall Islands;
- 8 p.m. in New Zealand;
- 9 p.m in Samoa, Aleutian Islands;
- 10 p.m. in Hawaii;
- 11 p.m. in West Canada;
- Midnight in San Francisco and Vancouver.

City Connections for Air Travel to Armenia

The most convenient way to visit Armenia is by air. Flights are available through Zvartnots International Airport, located outside of Yerevan at a 15-minute drive from Hotel Aviatrans. Below is a list of cities from where you can fly to Yerevan.

Aleppo Frankfur Nizhniy Novgorod Tbilisi
Amsterdam Istanbul Novosibirsk Tehran
Athens Kiev Odessa Tel Aviv
Beirut Krasnodar Paris Vienna
Chelyabinsk London Prague Volgograd
Dubai Moscow Sharjah  
Ekaterinburg Munich St Petersburg  

 

What to take

There is no simple answer to this question, since everything depends on the time of year. You should remember that in Armenia it can be as hot as 40C in summer and as cold as -20C in winter.
If you are travelling in summer, remember to pack a sunhat, sunglasses and a swimming costume. In spring and autumn a warm sweater, raincoats, waistcoats, a shawl and an umbrella could prove useful. Sportswear is strongly recommended in high mountainous areas, and around natural and artificial lakes. European dress style is accepted in Armenia. For various celebrations men wear suits, and women wear cocktail dresses. Dark suits are expected to be worn at official receptions.

Eating in Armenia

Armenian cuisine is very varied and can surely satisfy the tastes of the most exacting gourmet. Spices, herbs and spring water add a unique range of tastes, piquancy and poignancy. In Armenia the words to “eat bread” often replace the expressions such as to have breakfast, lunch or supper. This is because bread is an important part of the Armenian meal. The traditional national bread is lavash. An extremely thin, rolled streak of dough of about a metre long baked on a hot wall of the oven – tonir - lighted by dry grape wine – this is what lavash is all about.
Cheese, greens, lavash always go well together with any dish. Armenians love hot snacks. You can see it to yourself by trying bastourma – meat jerked on air and covered with crust (chaman) or soudjough – flat meat sausages stuffed with hot spices. From among soups, creamed soups /katnapur, spas, tanapur/ and the original and tasty bozbash /mutton soup/ and chikhirtma /chicken soups/ are the most commonly served.
Dolma /mince and rice wrapped in vine leaves/ is a very popular main dish. They are also delicious when stuffed with apples, quince and vegetables. Another favorite dish is kyufta /meatballs made of tenderloin, boiled meat served with melted butter/. Barbeque /khorovats in Armenian/, however, still holds pride of place. It is made with specially chosen pieces of mutton or pork, threaded onto a skewer and roasted over a fire. Khorovats is served with baked tomatoes, aubergines and sweet peppers. And you will especially enjoy eating khash with friends on cold winter days. Trout from Lake Sevan /Armenians call it ishkhan, “prince of fish”/ is a great delicacy.
And finally, if you are not someone who enjoys new and, at times, exotic dishes, you will find a number of restaurants and cafes in Armenia, and particularly in Yerevan, offering a wide variety of European, Russian, Eastern, as well as South-American dishes.

Meal Times in Armenia

Breakfast in Armenia is generally served from 7 to 10 a.m.
Lunch time starts from 12 to 3 p.m.
It is common to have dinner from 7 to 10 p.m.
Tipping is not required in places to eat, however it is common. Generally, it includes 10-15% of the total bill.

Wines and Brandies

The art of wine-making has existed in Armenia for centuries. Various brands of Armenian wines and cognac /brandy/ remain unchallenged up to present day.
There are excellent table wines, with or without spirit mixing, and also with special aromatic flavors and herb tincture. Brands like Areni, Meghradzor, Voskevaz, Echmiatsin, Oshahan, Getashen, Arevshat and others are quite famous. We recommend that dry white wines should be drunk chilled at 10-12C and red wines at 16-18C.
Cognac /brandy/ has been produced in Armenia for many centuries. There are many special brands of Armenian cognac that have won silver and gold medals in numerous international exhibitions. Armenian cognacs are aged from 6 to 50 years. Among the famous brands are Nairi, Vaspurakan, Ararat, Akhtamar, Yerevan, Ani, Dvin, and others.
Alongside with Armenian wines and brandy, visitors can taste any alcoholic drink known in the world.

Mineral Waters

Armenia is rich in mineral waters known worldwide. Mineral waters of Armenia have a healing effect for kidney, liver, gall bladder and intestinal diseases. In addition, mineral water baths are recommended for anomalies of nervous system and musculoskeletal apparatus. The mineral water brands of Armenia are: “Jermuk”, “Bjni”, “Dilijan”, “Hankavan”, “Arzni”, “Sevan”.

Fruits

Armenia is rich in fruits. Peach, apple, pear, cherry, mulberry, fig, pomegranate, nut, walnut, strawberry and many other fruits grow in Armenia. Apricot is considered the queen of this assemblage. Apricot grows in Armenia from ancient times. Many have tried to grow Armenian apricot in their native countries, but in no other place did its unmatched taste prove to be the same as in Armenia. People believe that apricot is good for heartache and that is why many are advised to visit Armenia in May, June, July.

Armenian Phrases:

Hello! – Barev dzes! or Barev!
Good Buy! – Stesutyun!
Thank you! – Shnorakalutyun! or Mercy!
Yes – Ayo
No – Voch, or Che
No problem – Harc chka